Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Universal Splash Screen


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 hmtinc

hmtinc

    Someone

  • Members
  • 1,315 posts
  • LocationCanada
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX 760 (2048mb)
    Intel HD 4000 (512mb)
    Nvidia geforce 9400 (264mb)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:Games
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:14 AM

well the only problem with non-cider wrapper is that you can't have a splash screen

I set out to change that :D

and i came up with the universal splash screen

downloadable here : http://www.mediafire...esrhbtawn7or369 10.7 required

Source code for more flexibility : http://www.mediafire...2od82fphc3atikw


It allows you to place your wrapper in the app and customize the splash screen with your image & credits. try it out . See how it is .


Instructions ;



How to Change splash screen image ? : right click app > show package contents > Contents > Resources & replace the splash.jpg with your own custom image (must still be named splash.jpg)

File must be 700 x 438 pixels exactly


How to link my wrapper with the splash screen ? : Rename your wrapper to port.app & copy it to /Contents/Resources



How to add my own credits to app ? : right click app > show package contents > Contents > Resources>en.iproj  & edit the credits.rtf file


How to change icon of splash screen app : right click app > show package contents > Contents > Resources & replace the icon file


How to change all remaining settings ? : Just edit the info.plist file done



Feel free to take credit :D


--
HM

#2 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2,379 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:23 AM

It don't support 10.6, right? (Like Doom 1) Can you rebuild app for 10.6?

If you can't do rebuild. I can do rebuild for you. :) I have Xcode 3.2. from my snow leopard installer DVD. I'm 10.6.8 user.

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#3 hmtinc

hmtinc

    Someone

  • Members
  • 1,315 posts
  • LocationCanada
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX 760 (2048mb)
    Intel HD 4000 (512mb)
    Nvidia geforce 9400 (264mb)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:Games
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:27 AM

View PostReboot, on 17 April 2012 - 02:23 AM, said:

It don't support 10.6, right? (Like Doom 1) Can you rebuild app for 10.6?

If you can't do rebuild. I can do rebuild for you. :) I have Xcode 3.2. from my snow leopard installer DVD. I'm 10.6.8 user.
My Xcode for some odd reason does not support 10.6 building on my comp
but heres the source code http://www.mediafire...2od82fphc3atikw
You should update to lion its better
--
HM

#4 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2,379 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:35 AM

Ah, I have one problem...
/Users/me/Downloads/SplashScreen/SplashScreen/en.lproj/MainMenu.xib:0:0 The document "MainMenu.xib" could not be opened. An instance of IBNSLayoutConstraint could not be decode.
MainMenu.xib don't works on Xcode 3.2 and Interface Builder 3.2.6. I don't think I can create new MainMenu.xib possible. I will try again weekend.

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#5 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2,379 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:37 AM

View Posthmtinc, on 17 April 2012 - 02:27 AM, said:

You should update to lion its better
I dislike OS X Lion for many reasons but I want to buy MacBook Air with Mountain Lion is awesome.

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#6 hmtinc

hmtinc

    Someone

  • Members
  • 1,315 posts
  • LocationCanada
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX 760 (2048mb)
    Intel HD 4000 (512mb)
    Nvidia geforce 9400 (264mb)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:Games
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:41 AM

View PostReboot, on 17 April 2012 - 02:37 AM, said:

I dislike OS X Lion for many reasons but I want to buy MacBook Air with Mountain Lion is awesome.
any way , i can't build for 10.6 for some reason , maybe you can ask some else to build it for you?
--
HM

#7 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2,379 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:54 AM

View Posthmtinc, on 17 April 2012 - 02:41 AM, said:

any way , i can't build for 10.6 for some reason , maybe you can ask some else to build it for you?
I think doh123 is Lion user. She can build app for 10.5 (dropped...) and 10.6... Maybe you ask her.

And I researched it short... That NSLayoutConstraint is designed for OS X Lion only... http://developer.app...Constraint.html

P.S. I'm new with Xcode... I was REALBasic noob guy. Lol.

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#8 hmtinc

hmtinc

    Someone

  • Members
  • 1,315 posts
  • LocationCanada
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX 760 (2048mb)
    Intel HD 4000 (512mb)
    Nvidia geforce 9400 (264mb)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:Games
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 03:18 AM

View PostReboot, on 17 April 2012 - 02:54 AM, said:

I think doh123 is Lion user. She can build app for 10.5 (dropped...) and 10.6... Maybe you ask her.

And I researched it short... That NSLayoutConstraint is designed for OS X Lion only... http://developer.app...Constraint.html

P.S. I'm new with Xcode... I was REALBasic noob guy. Lol.

But this app doesn't use NSLayoutConstraint
--
HM

#9 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4,279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:26 AM

All Xcode 4.x versions can build 10.6... maybe you just dont know how to set it up... it defaults set to the OS your running on...

to do 10.5 on 10.7 you have to do a Xcode 3.2.6 install which is a bit tricky since it won't let you do it by normal install... but I don't see any reason to support 10.5, so just go with 10.6.

#10 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4,279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:08 AM

Why wrap an app in an app?  Need to try to build a splash screen into Wineskin... if you get that working decently we can add it to Wineskin.  its been on the task list for a while.
Add wrapper splash screen

#11 devilhunter

devilhunter

    just dancing to the beat

  • Administrators
  • 3,051 posts
  • LocationSpace/Virgo Supercluster/Milky Way/Orion Arm/Earth
  • Graphics Card:NVIDIA 9800 GTX+
  • Operating System:Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 03:31 PM

View Postdoh123, on 17 April 2012 - 05:08 AM, said:

Why wrap an app in an app?  Need to try to build a splash screen into Wineskin... if you get that working decently we can add it to Wineskin.  its been on the task list for a while.
Add wrapper splash screen
Already have this working and it proved very useful.
As i mentioned earlier, this will get added to Wineskin Central Wrappers among other things (splashscreen + readme + easy editable + checklist)
Preview how this looks like:
http://dl.dropbox.co...s/Wrapper/6.png
http://dl.dropbox.co...s/Wrapper/5.png
http://dl.dropbox.co...s/Wrapper/4.png
http://dl.dropbox.co...s/portinfo2.png
http://dl.dropbox.co...s/Launcher3.png

Also works with 10.5, which was a pain to do...
Hello. Sadly, I am not active here on the Porting Team anymore, and therefore I cannot give support or answer questions to any of my posted Ports or posted topics.

- zero

#12 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4,279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:20 PM

We need to talk sometime about what changes are needed to the wrapper... Or does it just take the wrapper as is and put this stuff on it?  Seems like less potential issues later on if it's built in by default.

#13 devilhunter

devilhunter

    just dancing to the beat

  • Administrators
  • 3,051 posts
  • LocationSpace/Virgo Supercluster/Milky Way/Orion Arm/Earth
  • Graphics Card:NVIDIA 9800 GTX+
  • Operating System:Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:33 PM

View Postdoh123, on 17 April 2012 - 04:20 PM, said:

We need to talk sometime about what changes are needed to the wrapper... Or does it just take the wrapper as is and put this stuff on it?  Seems like less potential issues later on if it's built in by default.
I'll need a bit of time to finish Central then i'll move on to the Wrapper, i'll talk to you about this later.
For a test i'll go with a executable that launches your main executable after it displays the startup screen/readme, since i don't want do dig in too deep into the stuff you basically change every other day.
I don't know what else this could break besides the file association (and perhaps PID problems), but plan so far was to let Central get your stock Wrapper and inject this stuff into it upon creation if somebody chooses to make a 'Central' Wrapper.
Building this stuff in naturally removes any problems the addon way could do, but let me whip up something first, the simple way :P
Hello. Sadly, I am not active here on the Porting Team anymore, and therefore I cannot give support or answer questions to any of my posted Ports or posted topics.

- zero

#14 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4,279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:59 PM

If it could be built into WineskinLauncher it shouldn't break anything

#15 HiPhish

HiPhish

    Champion Member

  • Members
  • 697 posts
  • Graphics Card:NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
  • Operating System:Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 08:09 PM

I don't like the idea of having regular Wineskin and Central wrappers, I think that stuff should be merged into normal Wineskin. It just seems unnecessarily complicated for users. As for the splash screen, I don' really care, it's useful for Cider when you can't have windowed applications and some games have separate executables for config or multiplayer. In Wineskin, if the game has its own splash screen then that one usually works just fine.

View PostReboot, on 17 April 2012 - 02:23 AM, said:

(Like Doom 1)
You can play Doom natively using Chocolate Doom. Besides, I prefer to play DOS games using Boxer, it works in a similar way, games are wrapped up in gameboxes, except those boxes are not standalone applications but preconfigured DOS environments. Tey all share the same emulator, so there is no disk space lost by having DOSBox in every wrapper. The interface is really great as well and Alun Bestor is constantly working on making it even better. I could never go back to regular DOSBox again.
Games I own that still need porting:
Dark Messiah of Might & Magic, Descent 3, Fallout, Space Rangers 2

#16 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2,379 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 17 April 2012 - 08:44 PM

View PostHiPhish, on 17 April 2012 - 08:09 PM, said:

You can play Doom natively using Chocolate Doom. Besides, I prefer to play DOS games using Boxer, it works in a similar way, games are wrapped up in gameboxes, except those boxes are not standalone applications but preconfigured DOS environments. Tey all share the same emulator, so there is no disk space lost by having DOSBox in every wrapper. The interface is really great as well and Alun Bestor is constantly working on making it even better. I could never go back to regular DOSBox again.
I can play PrBoom, other native app. My brother played it too. I've tired Boxer... is beautiful app. And I asked my brother to try Boxer. He said no. He always prefer PrBoom and DOSBox are fine for him...

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#17 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2,379 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:38 PM

hmtinc, Is this project dead or...not?

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#18 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4,279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 27 April 2012 - 01:30 PM

i think its getting moved into the Wineskin Central... Wineskin Winery changes...

#19 hmtinc

hmtinc

    Someone

  • Members
  • 1,315 posts
  • LocationCanada
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX 760 (2048mb)
    Intel HD 4000 (512mb)
    Nvidia geforce 9400 (264mb)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:Games
Author

Posted 28 April 2012 - 12:23 AM

View PostReboot, on 27 April 2012 - 12:38 PM, said:

hmtinc, Is this project dead or...not?
I am not sure . If this projects dead or not :D
I don't plan on updating the post ... so i guess so
its really up to the porters and if they find this useful or not
(note : i made this out of boredom ... so i didn't really plan on following trough with it)

View Postdoh123, on 27 April 2012 - 01:30 PM, said:

i think its getting moved into the Wineskin Central... Wineskin Winery changes...
Is splash screen being added, Because i tired adding it to wineskin .. but i can't make it so people can choose to turn it off if they don't want it :(
--
HM

#20 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4,279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 28 April 2012 - 12:44 PM

View Posthmtinc, on 28 April 2012 - 12:23 AM, said:

Is splash screen being added, Because i tired adding it to wineskin .. but i can't make it so people can choose to turn it off if they don't want it :(
its on the list of things to do, but I haven't looked into it in a long time... I always love getting patch files from others though :-)

It should be pretty easy to add to WineskinLauncher though... maybe just make it display a certain dimension PDF in a pop up window with a check box of "do not show this again" ?  It would have to save and check for a plist file about the splash screen option if its supposed to show it or not.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users