15 replies to this topic

#1 ICCAFSN

ICCAFSN

• Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 08:46 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to Wineskin (and Wine in general), but I'm already amazed at the potential of it. I'm trying to run a very simple Windows game called TWMJ (website here). It's a pretty faithful version of Mahjong (the multiplayer version, not the solitaire version), which actually is kind of hard to find.

The main issue with the program is that it is written by a Taiwanese programmer and consequently needs to run under a Traditional Chinese language pack in order to display its fonts correctly. I have not for the life of me been able to figure out (or find good directions) on how to run EXE's that require a foreign language pack for proper font display with Wineskin - I've been Googling for several hours already.

Can anyone here give me a hand in how I need to create a wrapper to do this? I tried playing around with Winetricks and installing all the fonts, but that didn't seem to work.

I'm running Mac OS X 10.6.7 on a MBP 2.2 Core 2 Duo with Nvidia 8600M 128 MB VRAM. My parents will love you to death if you can help me get this working. Thanks!

ADDENDUM: I just wanted to add I'm already familiar with the basics of making a wrapper with Wineskin, I've already successfully wrapped a few simple EXE's; however, I never needed to use Winetricks before and I don't know how to handle this foreign font issue.

#2 dankoB

dankoB

Legendary Member

• Super Moderators
  • 3011 posts
  • LocationNew Brunswick, Canada
  • Graphics Card:MacBook Pro 11,3
    Core i7 16GB
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M
    2GB GDDR5 vRAM
  • Operating System:macOS 10.12 (Sierra)
  • I like to play:la rockitar
Author

Posted 30 March 2011 - 09:15 PM

I found this - http://www.microsoft...&DisplayLang=en

and was able to get this far at least...

Posted Image