10 replies to this topic

#1 Frenchfry

Frenchfry

Experienced Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 22 September 2011 - 05:45 AM

Hi, I'm very new at this and don't know 100% on what I'm doing.
Any help is appreciated.

I am trying to wrap Deus Ex with wine, and it all installed fine, went well. Now I try to run the app and it comes up with the error 'The program dxhr.exe has encountered a serious problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience'
I'm using the latest winery and latest wine (to my knowledge) 1.3.27
I saw someone else had this problem a few days ago but I can't find the thread again.
What can I do to fix this?

Thanks in advance.

#2 ovvldc

ovvldc

Master Member

• Members
  • 1,278 posts
  • LocationEurope
  • Graphics Card:Intel Iris Plus
  • Operating System:Other OS/Not specified
  • I like to play:stories

Posted 22 September 2011 - 09:57 AM

First of all, the lastest wine 1.3.27 is a development version and not guaranteed to work. I would start by trying version 1.2.3, which is the latest stable version.

Second, the error you got does not mean much, other than that Wine and Deus Ex are not talking amicably. You should try to get a proper log to find what is wrong, as described here. Post it here, or link from pastebin and then doh123 or other knowledgeable people can look at it.

Best wishes,
Oscar

#3 ovvldc

ovvldc

Master Member

• Members
  • 1,278 posts
  • LocationEurope
  • Graphics Card:Intel Iris Plus
  • Operating System:Other OS/Not specified
  • I like to play:stories

Posted 22 September 2011 - 10:48 AM

P.S. If you have a problem with dxhr.exe, could it be that you are trying to run Deus Ex: Human Revolution rather than Deus Ex?

#4 doh123

doh123

Wineskin Developer

• Members
  • 4,279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy