Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Macbook Air Questions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 wMin17

wMin17

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Operating System:Other OS/Not specified

Posted 20 June 2012 - 03:53 AM

So, today I bought the new macbook air (13.3 Inches with 256 flash memory) and I was wondering if this would run games better than my old macbook.  Macbook air only has 1.8 ghz while my old macbook had 2.4 ghz, but my new macbook air has 4 gb ram and my old one had 2 gb ram.  Macbook air uses the Intel HD 4000 card while my old computer used the 320m card.  So, the main point is: which one runs games better (in particular wineskin/cider ports)?

#2 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 20 June 2012 - 04:11 AM

SOmetimes there are more compatibility problems with Intel, where it just won't work with some things, but overall on OSX, the Intel HDs run decently in most things.  The Intel HD 4000 is faster than a Geforce 320m... so as long as you don't run into an Intel driver issue, the new one should run better.

oh.. and the Core i series even at 1.8 run circles around the old Core 2s.  While the frequency (GHz) might be lower, its still actually a faster chip in the new one.  A lot of people think that number is a speed rating.  It only works as a speed rating comparing the exact same chip architectures.

#3 wMin17

wMin17

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Operating System:Other OS/Not specified

Posted 20 June 2012 - 04:16 AM

Thanks for the info!  I should port some games to compare their speeds more in depth now....

#4 cluthz

cluthz

    Senior Hall monitor!

  • Super Forum Moderators
  • 2836 posts
  • LocationNorway
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX780 GHz Edition
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 20 June 2012 - 12:25 PM

To elaborate on the megahertz differences. My MBA @1.7GHz scores slightly higher than my desktop when clocked at 3.16GHz (C2D) and my 2010 i5 MBP @2.4GHz did score lower than my MBA 1.7GHz..

I'm pretty sure the new 2.0 Ghz i7 MBA scores higher or at least pretty close to my 4.0 GHz Core 2 Duo.

It kinda depends on what kinda stuff you are doing, but multithreaded stuff is pretty fast on the MBAs, however single threaded stuff and things that only effectively uses only uses two threads / two cores is still much faster on the 4GHz, but the 1.8GHz MBA you have will be faster than the 2.4GHz Core2 in everything, and in multithreaded stuff it will be more than twice as fast.

And oh, congrats on a new machine !

[HackPro i7-4790K, 3x SSD + 5TB HDD • 16GB RAM • NVidia GTX 780 GHz Edition • OSX 10.10] . [MacBookAir 13 1.7GHz • Intel HD 3000 • OSX 10.9.5]


How to port Steam games .... My Youtube Porting videos ... Play my RPG


#5 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2381 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 20 June 2012 - 01:12 PM

Do Intel HD 4000 have 512MB VRAM, correct? Why Apple don't tell us?

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#6 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 20 June 2012 - 01:29 PM

i think it uses 512 as long as you have 4gb... remember though its using your system memory still.  512 is max.

#7 cluthz

cluthz

    Senior Hall monitor!

  • Super Forum Moderators
  • 2836 posts
  • LocationNorway
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX780 GHz Edition
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 20 June 2012 - 04:34 PM

To be honest, there is not much difference with 384 or 512 mb on a Intel HD.
VRAM does not make stuff go faster, but it does make things go slower once you run out.
Anyways, most games will crawl when you are using effects and textures that requires more than 384 MB on a Intel HD.

Skyrim with unofficial HD textures ~450 MB VRAM
Image

Deus EX HR, DX9 maxed settings except medium SSAO ~400MB
  Image

Mass Effect 3 Max settings: ~420MB

  Image

Drop AA and textures a bit on those games and you'll have a nice time with 384MB or even 256MB VRAM..

[HackPro i7-4790K, 3x SSD + 5TB HDD • 16GB RAM • NVidia GTX 780 GHz Edition • OSX 10.10] . [MacBookAir 13 1.7GHz • Intel HD 3000 • OSX 10.9.5]


How to port Steam games .... My Youtube Porting videos ... Play my RPG


#8 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2381 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 20 June 2012 - 09:57 PM

I think I'll start new thread titled Can I play game on Intel HD 4000.

Welcome board, wMin17! You're Intel HD user now.

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC


#9 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin Developer

  • Members
  • 4279 posts
  • LocationOver here
  • Graphics Card:Geforce GT 650M, Intel HD 4000, Radeon 6750, Intel HD 3000, Geforce 320m (in 3 machines)
  • Operating System:OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • I like to play:RPG and Strategy

Posted 20 June 2012 - 10:10 PM

I ran Skyrim in Cider on my MBP-R with the Intel HD 4000 forced on, and i ran it on ultra at 1280x800 and it was very smooth most of the time... i don't have any way to check actual frame rate though.  Macbook Air HD 4000 will be slightly slower because of the lower end CPU (they are built into the CPU)

#10 cluthz

cluthz

    Senior Hall monitor!

  • Super Forum Moderators
  • 2836 posts
  • LocationNorway
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia GTX780 GHz Edition
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 21 June 2012 - 10:53 AM

View PostReboot, on 20 June 2012 - 09:57 PM, said:

I think I'll start new thread titled Can I play game on Intel HD 4000.

Welcome board, wMin17! You're Intel HD user now.

Actually, wouldn't it be better to make it in the same list?
I'm pretty sure all games that work on 3000 will work on 4000, so you could mark some games "HD4000" only, if they work on 4000 and not 3000 instead?

Maintaining two full lists would be a lot of work I guess, although if you manage to have two separate lists running I see no problems with it.

[HackPro i7-4790K, 3x SSD + 5TB HDD • 16GB RAM • NVidia GTX 780 GHz Edition • OSX 10.10] . [MacBookAir 13 1.7GHz • Intel HD 3000 • OSX 10.9.5]


How to port Steam games .... My Youtube Porting videos ... Play my RPG


#11 Reboot

Reboot

    I am Darkstar

  • Database Moderators
  • 2381 posts
  • Graphics Card:Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
  • Operating System:OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
Author

Posted 23 June 2012 - 01:42 AM

View Postcluthz, on 21 June 2012 - 10:53 AM, said:

Actually, wouldn't it be better to make it in the same list?
I'm pretty sure all games that work on 3000 will work on 4000, so you could mark some games "HD4000" only, if they work on 4000 and not 3000 instead?

Maintaining two full lists would be a lot of work I guess, although if you manage to have two separate lists running I see no problems with it.
http://portingteam.c...-with-intel-hd/ I posted new thread. I think It's better than old one.

Posted Image


~ ~ ~ Hackintosh Spec ~ ~ ~

Intel Core i5-3570K 4.20GHz -- Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Nvidia EVGA GTX 980 4GB VRAM GDDR5 SC





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users